Albemarle Corporation (New York Stock Exchange: ALB): Corporate Profile & Financials
Source: Form 10-K Year Ended December 31, 2025
Quick Facts / Company Snapshot
| Company Name | Albemarle Corporation |
| Headquarters | Charlotte, North Carolina |
| Country of Incorporation | Virginia |
| Founded | 1993 |
| What the Company Does | Transforms essential resources into critical ingredients for mobility, energy, connectivity, and health |
| Exchange and ticker | New York Stock Exchange: ALB |
| Business Segments | Energy Storage, Specialties, and Ketjen |
| Products & Services | Lithium compounds, bromine, specialty chemicals, refining catalysts, performance catalyst solutions, and recycling services |
| Employees | Approximately 7,800 |
| Countries & Regions Served | Approximately 70 countries |
| CEO & Board Chairperson | J. Kent Masters |
| Annual Revenue | $5,142,733,000 -4.4% |
| Net Income | $(465,210,000) +59.0% |
| Total Assets | $16,374,211,000 -1.4% |
| Total Liabilities | $6,592,750,000 -2.4% |
Company Overview
Albemarle Corporation is a world leader in transforming essential resources into critical ingredients for mobility, energy, connectivity, and health. The company’s stated purpose is to enable a more resilient world through partnerships that pioneer new ways to move, power, connect, and protect. Albemarle serves multiple end markets, including grid storage, automotive, aerospace, conventional energy, electronics, construction, agriculture and food, pharmaceuticals, and medical devices. The company and its joint ventures operate more than 25 production and research and development facilities alongside numerous administrative and sales offices around the world.
Albemarle manages its operations through three reportable segments: Energy Storage, Specialties, and Ketjen. The company conducts a substantial portion of its business outside the United States, utilizing global supply sources for critical raw materials such as lithium and bromine. Through disciplined operational execution, research and development, and safety protocols, the company seeks to maintain a leading position in its targeted industries.
Business Segments
During 2025, Albemarle managed and reported its operations under three reportable segments organized based on similar markets, customers, economic characteristics, and production processes.
Energy Storage
The Energy Storage segment develops and manufactures a broad range of basic lithium compounds, including lithium carbonate, lithium hydroxide, and lithium chloride. These compounds serve as key components in lithium batteries used in consumer electronics, electric vehicles, power grids, and solar panels, as well as in high-performance greases and specialty glass. The segment obtains lithium by purchasing lithium concentrate from its 49%-owned joint venture Windfield Holdings Pty. Ltd. and its 50%-owned unincorporated joint venture MARBL Lithium Joint Venture, and through solar evaporation ponds in Chile and Nevada.
Specialties
The Specialties business optimizes a portfolio of bromine and highly specialized lithium solutions serving energy, mobility, connectivity, and health industries. Specialty products include fire safety compounds for plastics and electronics, bromine fine chemicals, alkyl bromides, inorganic bromides, brominated powdered activated carbon, elemental bromine, butyllithium, and lithium aluminum hydride. Brine for bromine production is sourced from Arkansas and the Dead Sea, supported by active brine rights leasing and the company’s interest in the Jordan Bromine Company Limited joint venture.
Ketjen
The Ketjen segment provides clean fuels technologies including hydroprocessing catalysts together with isomerization and alkylation catalysts, fluidized catalytic cracking catalysts and additives, and performance catalyst solutions. These products assist in upgrading oil fractions to clean fuels, removing impurities, and manufacturing polyolefins and electronics. On October 25, 2025, Albemarle signed a definitive agreement to divest the controlling ownership interest of Ketjen’s Refining Solutions business while retaining the performance catalyst solutions business and a 49% interest in the newly formed limited partnership Holdco, alongside the January 23, 2026 sale of its 50% ownership interest in Eurecat S.A.
History and Evolution
Albemarle Corporation was incorporated in Virginia in 1993. Over subsequent decades, the company expanded its operations and portfolio through strategic acquisitions and joint ventures, notably acquiring Rockwood Holdings, Inc. in 2015. On October 18, 2023, Albemarle completed a restructuring of the MARBL joint venture with Mineral Resources Limited, acquiring full ownership of the Kemerton lithium hydroxide processing facility while adjusting its ownership interest in the Wodgina mine to 50%.
In response to changing end-market conditions and lithium price volatility, the company initiated comprehensive reviews of its cost and operating structure, placing select conversion facilities and production trains into care and maintenance. In late 2025, the company signed definitive agreements to divest the controlling interest in Ketjen’s Refining Solutions business and its ownership interest in Eurecat S.A., with the Eurecat transaction closing in January 2026 and the Refining Solutions transaction expected to close in the first quarter of 2026.
Products and Services
Albemarle’s product portfolio addresses specialized industrial, technological, and chemical needs across distinct operating categories:
- Energy Storage Products: Lithium carbonate, lithium hydroxide, and lithium chloride for batteries, electric vehicles, grid storage, and industrial uses.
- Specialties Products: Bromine, alkyl bromides, inorganic bromides, brominated powdered activated carbon, fire safety solutions, butyllithium, lithium aluminum hydride, cesium products, and zirconium, barium, and titanium products for pyrotechnical applications.
- Ketjen Products: Hydroprocessing catalysts, isomerization and alkylation catalysts, fluidized catalytic cracking catalysts, additives, organometallics, and curatives.
- Services: Handling and use technical services for reactive lithium products and recycling services for lithium-containing by-products.
Brand Portfolio
The company maintains product and business lines under recognized operational brand names, including Ketjen for its clean fuels and catalyst technologies. Brand equity is supported by intellectual property rights, proprietary process technologies, and registered trademarks across global markets.
Geographical Presence
Albemarle serves approximately 1,900 customers in approximately 70 countries. The company operates more than 25 production and research and development facilities worldwide, supported by administrative and sales offices. Principal operations and mineral assets are located in the United States, Australia, Chile, China, Jordan, Germany, Taiwan, Brazil, and the Netherlands. Net sales shipped to or within China represented 39% of total net sales in 2025.
Competitor Analysis
Albemarle operates in highly competitive global markets characterized by aggressive expansion from existing and new participants. Competition is based on product performance, quality, price, contract terms, reliability of supply, customer service, and climate-related performance.
In the global lithium market, major competitors include Sociedad Quimica y Minera de Chile S.A., Sichuan Tianqi Lithium, Jiangxi Ganfeng Lithium, Rio Tinto plc, Pilbara Minerals, Tesla, and numerous Chinese companies. In the Specialties segment, principal competitors include Lanxess AG, Israel Chemicals Ltd, Rio Tinto, and producers in India and China. In the Ketjen catalysts market, competitors include Shell Catalysts & Technologies, Advanced Refining Technologies, Haldor Topsoe, W.R. Grace & Co., BASF Corporation, Nouryon, and Arxada.
Operating Performance and Business Drivers
For the year ended December 31, 2025, Albemarle recorded net sales of $5,142.7 million, representing a 4% decrease compared to $5,377.5 million in 2024. The change in net sales was driven primarily by lower lithium carbonate and hydroxide market pricing in the Energy Storage segment, partially offset by a 9% year-over-year increase in Energy Storage sales volume and higher volumes across all businesses. Gross profit improved to $668.7 million, or 13.0% of net sales, compared to $62.5 million, or 1.2% of net sales, in 2024, benefiting from lower average input costs and increased sales volumes.
Net loss attributable to Albemarle Corporation for 2025 was $(510.6) million, compared to $(1,179.4) million in 2024. Results for 2025 included non-cash goodwill impairment charges of $181.1 million associated with the Refining Solutions reporting unit and long-lived asset impairment charges of $245.6 million to reduce the carrying value of the Refining Solutions business to its fair value less costs to sell. Cash provided by operating activities reached $1.3 billion in 2025, reflecting an 86% increase over the prior year, bolstered by customer prepayments and disciplined working capital management.
Board of Directors and Leadership Team
Executive leadership and oversight are provided by experienced officers and a board of directors:
- J. Kent Masters – Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer
- Neal R. Sheorey – Executive Vice President, Chief Financial Officer
- Melissa H. Anderson – Executive Vice President, Chief Business Transformation Officer
- Mark R. Mummert – Executive Vice President, Chief Operations Officer
- Eric W. Norris – Executive Vice President, Chief Commercial Officer
- Autumn M. Gagarinas – Senior Vice President, Chief People and Workplace Transformation Officer
- Ander C. Krupa – Senior Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary
- Cynthia R. Lima – Senior Vice President, Chief External Affairs and Communications Officer
- Michael J. Simmons – President, Ketjen Global Business Unit
- Donald J. LaBauve, Jr. – Vice President, Corporate Controller and Chief Accounting Officer
Board of Directors: M. Lauren Brlas, Ralf H. Cramer, Glenda J. Minor, James J. O’Brien, Diarmuid B. O’Connell, Gerald A. Steiner, Holly A. Van Deursen, and Alejandro D. Wolff.
Future Strategy and Business Priorities
Albemarle’s strategic focus centers on optimizing its cost structure, enhancing financial flexibility, deleveraging, and investing in high-priority growth businesses while maintaining disciplined capital allocation. The company has implemented a fully integrated functional operating model, reduced planned capital expenditures to between $550 million and $600 million for 2026, and executed restructuring initiatives to lower operating costs.
Strategic priorities include completing the announced divestitures in the first quarter of 2026, executing asset optimization actions such as placing Kemerton Train 1 into care and maintenance, and leveraging long-term customer supply agreements to capitalize on expected growth in electric vehicle adoption, energy storage systems, and specialty chemical markets.
Key Strengths
- World-class mineral resource positions in lithium brine and hard rock, including interests in Greenbushes, Wodgina, Salar de Atacama, and Silver Peak.
- Leading process chemistry and technological innovation across energy storage, bromine specialties, and catalysts.
- Diverse global operating footprint spanning approximately 70 countries with established international customer relationships.
- Strong liquidity position supported by disciplined working capital management, cash flow from operations, and proceeds from pending divestitures.
- Commitment to sustainability standards, safety performance, and rigorous operational risk management.
Key Challenges and Risks
- Volatility and cyclical fluctuations in lithium market prices and end-market demand.
- Risks associated with international operations, including regulatory changes, geopolitical disputes, trade tariffs, and foreign currency exchange rate fluctuations.
- Operating hazards common to chemical manufacturing and natural resource extraction, including environmental compliance, safety incidents, and brine extraction limits.
- Uncertainties related to the execution and completion of planned divestitures and restructuring actions.
- Complex credit agreement covenant compliance requirements tied to leverage and interest coverage ratios.
Conclusion and Strategic Outlook
Albemarle Corporation remains positioned as a key global participant in supplying critical materials for mobility, energy, connectivity, and health. While navigating pricing volatility and cyclical headwinds in the lithium market, the company continues to execute cost optimization, streamline its operational structure through targeted divestitures, and preserve capital flexibility. Through disciplined management of its resource assets and operational network, Albemarle aims to support long-term demand growth across electrification and industrial end markets.
Official Site
Financial Statements
The consolidated financial statements are reported in U.S. Dollars (in thousands, except per share amounts) for the years ended December 31, 2025, 2024, and 2023.
Summary Consolidated Statements of Operations
| Line Item | 2025 | 2024 | YoY Growth (%) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Net sales | 5,142,733 | 5,377,526 | -4.37% |
| Cost of goods sold | 4,474,014 | 5,314,987 | -15.82% |
| Gross profit | 668,719 | 62,539 | +969.28% |
| Selling, general and administrative expenses | 550,036 | 618,048 | -11.00% |
| Goodwill impairment charges | 181,070 | — | – |
| Long-lived asset impairment charges | 245,600 | — | – |
| Restructuring charges and asset write-offs | 7,699 | 1,134,316 | -99.32% |
| Research and development expenses | 51,398 | 86,720 | -40.73% |
| Operating (loss) profit | (367,084) | (1,776,545) | -79.34% |
| Interest and financing expenses | (207,651) | (165,619) | +25.38% |
| Other income, net | 22,662 | 178,339 | -87.29% |
| (Loss) income before income taxes and equity in net income of unconsolidated investments | (552,073) | (1,763,825) | -68.70% |
| Income tax expense | 156,881 | 87,085 | +80.15% |
| Loss before equity in net income of unconsolidated investments | (708,954) | (1,850,910) | -61.70% |
| Equity in net income of unconsolidated investments (net of tax) | 243,744 | 715,433 | -65.93% |
| Net (loss) income | (465,210) | (1,135,477) | -59.03% |
| Net income attributable to noncontrolling interests | (45,418) | (43,972) | +3.29% |
| Net (loss) income attributable to Albemarle Corporation | (510,628) | (1,179,449) | -56.71% |
| Mandatory convertible preferred stock dividends | (166,750) | (136,647) | +22.03% |
| Net (loss) income attributable to Albemarle Corporation common shareholders | (677,378) | (1,316,096) | -48.53% |
| Basic (loss) earnings per share attributable to common shareholders | (5.76) | (11.20) | -48.57% |
| Diluted (loss) earnings per share attributable to common shareholders | (5.76) | (11.20) | -48.57% |
Balance Sheet
| Line Item | December 31, 2025 | December 31, 2024 | YoY Growth (%) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cash and cash equivalents | 1,618,001 | 1,192,230 | +35.71% |
| Trade accounts receivable, less allowance for credit losses | 593,502 | 742,201 | -20.03% |
| Other accounts receivable | 105,110 | 238,384 | -55.91% |
| Inventories | 1,179,271 | 1,502,531 | -21.51% |
| Other current assets | 140,440 | 166,916 | -15.86% |
| Current assets held for sale | 371,815 | — | – |
| Total current assets | 4,008,139 | 3,842,262 | +4.32% |
| Property, plant and equipment, at cost | 11,768,840 | 12,523,368 | -6.02% |
| Less accumulated depreciation and amortization | 3,156,429 | 3,191,898 | -1.11% |
| Net property, plant and equipment | 8,612,411 | 9,331,470 | -7.71% |
| Investments | 900,926 | 1,117,739 | -19.40% |
| Other assets | 647,185 | 504,711 | +28.23% |
| Goodwill | 1,499,657 | 1,582,714 | -5.25% |
| Other intangibles, net of amortization | 214,233 | 230,753 | -7.16% |
| Noncurrent assets held for sale | 491,660 | — | – |
| Total assets | 16,374,211 | 16,609,649 | -1.42% |
| Accounts payable to third parties | 779,160 | 793,455 | -1.80% |
| Accounts payable to related parties | 134,369 | 150,432 | -10.68% |
| Accrued expenses | 521,831 | 467,997 | +11.50% |
| Current portion of long-term debt | 74,077 | 398,023 | -81.39% |
| Dividends payable | 61,387 | 61,282 | +0.17% |
| Income taxes payable | 35,467 | 95,275 | -62.77% |
| Current liabilities held for sale | 191,753 | — | – |
| Total current liabilities | 1,798,044 | 1,966,464 | -8.56% |
| Long-term debt | 3,119,464 | 3,118,142 | +0.04% |
| Postretirement benefits | 44,744 | 31,930 | +40.13% |
| Pension benefits | 117,361 | 116,192 | +1.01% |
| Other noncurrent liabilities | 1,084,892 | 819,204 | +32.43% |
| Deferred income taxes | 368,275 | 358,029 | +2.86% |
| Noncurrent liabilities held for sale | 59,970 | — | – |
| Common stock | 1,178 | 1,176 | +0.17% |
| Mandatory convertible preferred stock | 2,235,105 | 2,235,105 | 0.00% |
| Additional paid-in capital | 3,018,213 | 2,985,606 | +1.09% |
| Accumulated other comprehensive loss | (334,807) | (742,062) | -54.88% |
| Retained earnings | 4,613,676 | 5,481,692 | -15.83% |
| Total Albemarle Corporation shareholders’ equity | 9,533,365 | 9,961,517 | -4.30% |
| Noncontrolling interests | 248,096 | 238,171 | +4.17% |
| Total equity | 9,781,461 | 10,199,688 | -4.10% |
| Total liabilities and equity | 16,374,211 | 16,609,649 | -1.42% |
Cash Flow Statement
| Line Item | 2025 | 2024 | YoY Growth (%) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cash and cash equivalents at beginning of year | 1,192,230 | 889,900 | +33.97% |
| Net (loss) income | (465,210) | (1,135,477) | -59.03% |
| Depreciation and amortization | 658,678 | 588,638 | +11.90% |
| Non-cash goodwill impairment charges | 181,070 | — | – |
| Non-cash long-lived asset impairment charges | 245,600 | — | – |
| Non-cash restructuring and asset write-offs | — | 1,013,444 | – |
| Stock-based compensation and other | 40,271 | 32,141 | +25.29% |
| Equity in net income of unconsolidated investments (net of tax) | (243,744) | (715,433) | -65.93% |
| Dividends received from unconsolidated investments and nonmarketable securities | 93,739 | 358,933 | -73.88% |
| Pension and postretirement expense (benefit) | 23,377 | (5,274) | N/M |
| Pension and postretirement contributions | (20,441) | (19,379) | +5.48% |
| Realized loss on investments in marketable securities | — | 33,746 | – |
| Unrealized (gain) loss on investments in marketable securities | (14,088) | 30,073 | N/M |
| Loss on early extinguishment of debt | 7,471 | — | – |
| Deferred income taxes | 81,169 | (230,406) | N/M |
| Decrease (increase) in accounts receivable | 47,315 | 555,218 | -91.48% |
| Decrease (increase) in inventories | 212,351 | 1,055,036 | -79.87% |
| Decrease (increase) in other current assets | 4,027 | 244,987 | -98.36% |
| Increase (decrease) in accounts payable to third parties | 144,208 | (462,839) | N/M |
| (Decrease) increase in accounts payable to related parties | (16,063) | (399,398) | -95.98% |
| (Decrease) increase in accrued expenses and income taxes payable | (36,753) | (140,099) | -73.77% |
| Noncurrent liability changes and other, net | 339,290 | (116,035) | N/M |
| Net cash provided by operating activities | 1,282,267 | 687,876 | +86.41% |
| Capital expenditures | (589,801) | (1,680,529) | -64.90% |
| Proceeds from sale of property and equipment | 32,812 | 29,102 | +12.75% |
| Proceeds from sale from investments | 290,908 | — | – |
| Proceeds (payments) from settlement of foreign currency forward contracts, net | 114,236 | (15,595) | N/M |
| Sales (purchases) of marketable securities, net | 6,077 | 82,520 | -92.64% |
| Investments in equity investments and nonmarketable securities | (239) | (270) | -11.48% |
| Net cash used in investing activities | (146,007) | (1,584,772) | -90.79% |
| Proceeds from issuance of mandatory convertible preferred stock, net of issuance costs | — | 2,236,750 | – |
| Proceeds from borrowings of long-term debt and credit agreements | 56,728 | 112,439 | -49.55% |
| Repayments of long-term debt and credit agreements | (505,736) | (112,439) | +349.79% |
| Other (repayments) borrowings, net | (5,657) | (631,834) | -99.10% |
| Dividends paid to common shareholders | (190,530) | (188,530) | +1.06% |
| Dividends paid to mandatory convertible preferred shareholders | (166,750) | (122,746) | +35.85% |
| Dividends paid to noncontrolling interests | (18,169) | (37,194) | -51.15% |
| Proceeds from exercise of stock options | 3,240 | 374 | +766.31% |
| Withholding taxes paid on stock-based compensation award distributions | (7,258) | (11,891) | -38.96% |
| Other | (55) | (3,194) | -98.28% |
| Net cash (used in) provided by financing activities | (834,187) | 1,241,735 | N/M |
| Net effect of foreign exchange on cash and cash equivalents | 123,698 | (42,509) | N/M |
| Increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents | 425,771 | 302,330 | +40.83% |
| Cash and cash equivalents at end of year | 1,618,001 | 1,192,230 | +35.71% |
Subsidiaries & Joint Ventures
| Entity Name | Country / Jurisdiction | Relationship | Ownership Interest |
|---|---|---|---|
| Windfield Holdings Pty. Ltd. | Australia | Unconsolidated Joint Venture | 49% |
| Nippon Aluminum Alkyls | Japan | Unconsolidated Joint Venture (divested October 1, 2025) | 0% (50% in 2024) |
| Nippon Ketjen Company Limited | Japan | Unconsolidated Joint Venture | 50% |
| Eurecat S.A. | France | Unconsolidated Joint Venture (divested January 23, 2026) | 50% |
| Fábrica Carioca de Catalisadores S.A. | Brazil | Unconsolidated Joint Venture | 50% |
| Jordan Bromine Company Limited | Jordan | Consolidated Joint Venture | 50% |
| MARBL Lithium Joint Venture | Australia | Unincorporated Joint Venture | 50% |
Other Investments & Holdings
| Investee | Nature of Interest | Ownership Percentage | Carrying Value / Amount | Reporting Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Public Equity Securities | Marketable equity securities | Not disclosed | $64,312 thousand | December 31, 2025 |
| Nonmarketable Securities | Nonmarketable investments | Not disclosed | $16,766 thousand | December 31, 2025 |
Physical Properties
| Location | Facility Type / Principal Use | Ownership / Lease Status |
|---|---|---|
| Chengdu, China | Production of technical and battery-grade lithium hydroxide (placed into care and maintenance in 2025) | Owned |
| Greenbushes, Australia | Production of lithium spodumene minerals and lithium concentrate | Owned by joint venture |
| Kemerton, Australia | Production of technical and battery-grade lithium hydroxide (Train 1 and Train 2 in care and maintenance) | Owned |
| Kings Mountain, NC, USA | Production of technical/battery-grade lithium hydroxide, lithium salts and lithium metal products / Exploration | Owned |
| La Negra, Chile | Production of technical and battery-grade lithium carbonate | Owned |
| Meishan, China | Production of technical and battery-grade lithium hydroxide | Owned |
| Qinzhou, China | Production of lithium carbonate and technical/battery-grade lithium hydroxide | Owned |
| Salar de Atacama, Chile | Production of lithium brine and potash | Owned (reverts to Chilean government upon contract exhaustion) |
| Silver Peak, NV, USA | Production of lithium brine, technical-grade lithium carbonate and lithium hydroxide | Owned and leased (unpatented claims) |
| Wodgina, Australia | Production of lithium spodumene minerals and lithium concentrate | Owned and leased by joint venture |
| Xinyu, China | Production of technical and battery-grade lithium hydroxide | Owned |
| Baton Rouge, LA, USA | R&D activities and production of fire safety solutions | Leased |
| Langelsheim, Germany | Production of butyllithium, lithium chloride, specialty products, lithium hydrides, cesium and special metals | Owned |
| Magnolia, AR, USA | Production of fire safety solutions, bromine, inorganic bromides, agricultural intermediates and tertiary amines | Owned |
| New Johnsonville, TN, USA | Production of butyllithium and specialty products | Owned |
| Safi, Jordan | Production of bromine and derivatives and fire safety solutions | Owned and leased by joint venture |
| Taichung, Taiwan | Production of butyllithium | Owned |
| Amsterdam, the Netherlands | Production of refinery catalysts, R&D activities | Owned |
| Bayport, TX, USA | Production of refinery catalysts, R&D activities | Owned |
| Niihama, Japan | Production of refinery catalysts | Leased by joint venture |
| Pasadena, TX, USA | Production of chemical products, including aluminum and magnesium alkyls | Owned |
| Santa Cruz, Brazil | Production of catalysts, R&D activities | Owned by joint venture |
Investments and Capital Expenditure
| Category | Reported Period / Basis | Amount | YoY Growth (%) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Capital Expenditures (2025) | Year ended December 31, 2025 (Actual) | $589,801 thousand | – |
| Capital Expenditures (2024) | Year ended December 31, 2024 (Actual) | $1,680,529 thousand | – |
| Capital Expenditures (2023) | Year ended December 31, 2023 (Actual) | $2,154,542 thousand | – |
| Research and Development Expenses (2025) | Year ended December 31, 2025 (Actual) | $51,398 thousand | – |
| Research and Development Expenses (2024) | Year ended December 31, 2024 (Actual) | $86,720 thousand | – |
| Research and Development Expenses (2023) | Year ended December 31, 2023 (Actual) | $85,725 thousand | – |
Share Capital and Outstanding Shares
| Share Class or Item | Reported Amount / Number of Shares | Reporting Date / Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Common Stock Authorized | 275,000,000 shares | Authorized per Charter |
| Common Stock Issued and Outstanding | 117,716,375 shares (117,716 thousand) | December 31, 2025 |
| Common Stock Issued and Outstanding | 117,559,774 shares (117,560 thousand) | December 31, 2024 |
| Mandatory Convertible Preferred Stock Authorized | 15,000 shares | Series A Preferred Stock |
| Mandatory Convertible Preferred Stock Issued and Outstanding | 2,300,000 shares (2,300 shares in thousands/units) | December 31, 2025 and December 31, 2024 |
| Weighted-average common shares outstanding—basic | 117,664 thousand shares | Year ended December 31, 2025 |
| Weighted-average common shares outstanding—diluted | 117,664 thousand shares | Year ended December 31, 2025 |
| Weighted-average common shares outstanding—basic | 117,516 thousand shares | Year ended December 31, 2024 |
| Weighted-average common shares outstanding—diluted | 117,516 thousand shares | Year ended December 31, 2024 |
| Common stock holders of record | 1,806 holders | February 4, 2026 |
| Common stock outstanding (exact) | 117,847,220 shares | February 4, 2026 |
Frequently Asked Questions
What is Albemarle Corporation’s primary business?
Albemarle transforms essential resources into critical ingredients for mobility, energy, connectivity, and health, operating primarily through three business segments: Energy Storage, Specialties, and Ketjen.
What are Albemarle’s primary reportable segments?
The company’s reportable segments are Energy Storage, Specialties, and Ketjen.
Where are Albemarle’s principal lithium extraction operations located?
Albemarle obtains lithium through its interests in hard rock mines in Western Australia (Greenbushes and Wodgina) and solar evaporation brine operations in Chile (Salar de Atacama) and the United States (Silver Peak, Nevada).
What actions has Albemarle taken regarding its Ketjen segment?
On October 25, 2025, Albemarle signed a definitive agreement to divest the controlling ownership interest in Ketjen’s Refining Solutions business while retaining its performance catalyst solutions business and a 49% interest in Holdco, alongside the January 23, 2026 sale of its 50% ownership interest in Eurecat S.A.
How does Albemarle manage its debt and liquidity?
The company relies on cash generated from operations, cash balances, available borrowing capacity under its $1.5 billion credit facility and commercial paper program, and proceeds from pending divestitures to service indebtedness, fund capital expenditures, and support general corporate purposes.